About Serbia


Europe and Serbia


“Devil’s Town” near Kursumlia

Serbia, or officially the Republic of Serbia, is a continental country located in Southeastern Europe, covering an area of the Balkans and partly in Central Europe (Pannonian Plain). The capital is Belgrade. With 1,639,121 inhabitants in the surrounding, based on 2011 data, it is the administrative and economic center of the country.



Serbia has a northern border with Hungary, a northeast border with Romania, and Bulgaria to the east, in the south with the Republic of Macedonia, to the south-west with Albania, and Montenegro to the west of Croatia and Bosnia and Herzegovina (Serbian Republic).


Golubac fortress


Uvac River – Eastern Serbia

Serbia since the end of World War I was a founder and part of the common state with the most Balkan South Slavs originally the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes (later renamed the Kingdom of Yugoslavia), then in the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, Federal Republic of Yugoslavia and Serbia & Montenegro in 2006, after a referendum in Montenegro, State Union of Serbia and Montenegro ceased to exist and the Republic of Serbia, on the basis of the Constitutional Charter of Serbia and Montenegro continued the union and legal continuity of the state union of Serbia and Montenegro.

The Republic of Serbia has two autonomous provinces: Voivodina and Kosovo and Metohija. Since the NATO bombing of Yugoslavia, the province of Kosovo and Metohija is under the protection of the United Nations. Provisional Institutions of Self-Government in Kosovo, where ethnic Albanians make up the majority. On February 17, 2008 unilaterally and illegally (contrary to the domestic law of the Republic of Serbia-the Constitution of the Republic of Serbia since 2006, And UN Security Council Resolution 1244 and international law) are declared the independence, which the Republic of Serbia, many other states and the United Nations does not recognize.


Bank of the Danube – Vojvodina

The Republic of Serbia is a member of the United Nations, the Council of Europe, the Organization for Security and Cooperation, Partnership for Peace and of the Organization of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation. It is also an official candidate for membership in the European Union and a militarily neutral country, and has the status of observer in the Organization for collective security and cooperation.